Home / About / Newsroom / APTLD 2005 – Kyoto AGM Communiqué

APTLD 2005 – Kyoto AGM Communiqué

< back to list

24 February 2005


APTLD member representatives from .au, .hk .jp,.kr, .lk, .my, .nu, .nz, .sg, .th, .tw, .vn, Afilias and invited guests from .af, .kh, and .mn met in Kyoto, Japan on 20-22 February 2005 for the APTLD 2005 AGM and Board Meeting, in association with APRICOT 2005. The 2005 APTLD Technical Workshop was held in Kyoto on 21 February with presentations on CoCCA registry software (Muhammad Aslam, .af) and the basics of DNS (Pensri Arunwatanamongkol, .th) forming part of the official APRICOT programme.

APTLD thanks Mr. Doug Barton, IANA General Manager, for accepting the invitation to meet with APTLD in Kyoto. APTLD appreciates Doug’s updates on IANA and his plans for the future, as well as clarifications on some of the questions raised by members.

APTLD also welcomed brief presentations from Baasansuren Burma of Mongolia and Lim Yatal of Cambodia on registry operations in those countries. Attendance at the meeting of these speakers was made possible by the APTLD Sponsorship programme.

At the AGM, members adopted the online voting result for 4 board seats open for re-election. The current members of APTLD Board are Chris Disspain (.au), Hualin Qian (.cn), Yumi Ohashi (.jp), Chan-ki Park (.kr), Shariya Haniz Zulkifli (.my), Richard St. Clair (.nu), Peter Dengate Thrush (.nz) and Ai-chin Lu (.tw).

APTLD is pleased to announce that Peter Dengate Thrush (.nz) was re-elected as the Chairman for 2005/06. Other officers include Shariya Haniz Zulkifli (.my) re-elected as Senior Vice Chair, Yumi Ohashi (.jp) re-elected as Vice Chair for Membership, and Chanki Park (.kr) re-elected as Vice Chair for Treasury.

The year 2004 has been a very productive year for APTLD. During the year, APTLD conducted an RFP process for the appointment of the APTLD Secretariat for 2005-2006. InternetNZ was selected as the new Secretariat at the Perth meeting in November 2004. APTLD members expressed their deepest thanks to TWNIC for their excellent Secretariat services in 2001-2004.

APTLD committees are taking an active role in moving forward and the Chairs of APTLD committees gave reports on the work carried out by their committee in 2004. The secretariat also presented its annual report and financial report for 2004, as well as the action and budget plans for 2005.

Three issues were discussed in detail during the course of the AGM. APTLD members considered the issues surrounding the draft ICANN Strategic Plan, and issued a statement in response to the Plan. There was also an extensive discussion around the issue of homographic phishing using IDNs. Statements on both these issues are attached to the end of this communiqué. The third discussion was about the WSIS/WGIG process, and APTLD Board has agreed to draft a response to the recent papers issued by the WGIG, focusing on the root server and Internet Names/IP address papers.

Members also reviewed and discussed issues including ccNSO development, ENUM trials in the AP region, the recent .in launch, IDNs, and the possible employment of a General Manager for APTLD.

The next Members meeting of APTLD will be held in Singapore in July 2005.

Signed by: 
APTLD Chairman: Peter Dengate Thrush
Members of the Board: Chan-ki Park, Chris Disspain, Hualin Qian, Richard St. Clair, 
Shariya Haniz Zulkifli, Ai-chin Lu and Yumi Ohashi. 

WordPress Lessons